Avira Phantom VPN测评

Avira Phantom VPN评测:企业永远无法创造出色的VPN

Avira Operations GmbH & Co. KG成立于2006年,其创始人H+BEDV Datentechnik于1986年成立。一个值得信赖的公司,但它是私人的吗?阅读Avira Phantom VPN测评。

编辑的评价。
4.7
Avira Phantom VPN网站

不幸的是,企业从来没有制造出强大的VPN

我记得曾经下载过Avira杀毒软件,那是在2018年他们发布新版本的时候。当时我刚刚完成了笔记本电脑的格式化,想尝试一些新的东西,而不是Avast、Kaspersky或FireEye。

然而接下来,我记得我一拿到它就迅速卸载了。

为什么?

Avira 防病毒的“免费”附加功能实际上是试用版。此外,保护相当平庸,对系统性能影响很大。

不过这次我们将进一步看一下Avira Phantom VPN评测。

我们开始吧。

Avira Phantom VPN简介

排名: 36#/52
母公司: Avira Operations GmbH & Co.KG
管辖范围: 德国
地点: 27+国家/80+服务器
整体测试结果: 安全
Torrenting(种子): 通过(允许Torrent)
Netflix: 通过(解锁Netflix 2/3)
加密/协议: AES-256/IKEv2/IPsec/OpenVPN
支持: 电子邮件回复~44小时
费用: 4.74美元/月
官方网站: www.avira.com

由一个"仁慈的独裁者"创立

Avira Operations GmbH & Co. KG成立于2006年,其前身H+BEDV Datentechnik GmbH成立于1986年。因此,他们在网络安全市场上已经有超过33年的历史。

创始人是Tjark Auerbach,他在LinkedIn上自称是"仁慈的独裁者"。在经营公司27年后,他于2013年提前退休,留下了一家估计占全球市场份额9.6%的公司(根据OPSWAT的数据)和超过1亿多的客户。

Avira在2012年被认为是第六大杀毒软件厂商。

无浏览记录

在51个VPN中,有20个会记录你的个人数据。个人数据可以是连接时间戳,你的IP地址,或者你访问的网站。在数据记录的情况下,您的数据可能存在风险的原因有三个:

  1. 数据泄露--仅2018年一年,Facebook、万豪酒店等知名品牌就有超过50多亿条个人数据记录被泄露。
  2. 法院信息请求 - 如果公司位于14眼管辖区,您的数据可能会被泄露。
  3. 厂商诚信--一些VPN服务将用户数据出售给第三方广告商。

以下是Avira Phantom VPN登录政策,日期为2019年5月18日:

Avira Phantom VPN声称没有记录,而且他们似乎是按照政策行事的,因为我们不知道有任何公开的法庭案例证明了相反的情况。

安全加密和功能

一个强大VPN的本质是安全。它有很多形式,比如加密的类型、附加功能和可靠性。和大多数服务一样,Avira也有一些不错的地方。

  • AES 256位加密方法。高级加密标准是密码的一个子集,是定义数据加密过程的算法。美国宇航局、网络安全公司都在使用它,所以它的安全性非常高。我们不会说它是不可破解的,但这是一项非常复杂的任务。
  • 加密协议OpenVPN、IPSec和ikev2。如果你想要最高的安全性和速度,你可以使用OpenVPN。但是你不能在端口和UDP/TCP之间切换。
  • 终止开关是在系统故障时自动切断连接的装置。它可以让你在晚上安然入睡,即便电脑是开着的。

然而并不是所有的东西都是免费的,因为每一个功能都需要开发时间和维护,因此可以理解为某些功能只为付费客户提供服务。例如,终止开关并没有随免费计划一起推出

不幸的是,服务器之间的跳转是不可用的。多跳(双跳)将您的流量通过两到三个国家,然后再到达目的地服务器以提高安全级别。

服务器平均速度

速度是服务器管理的结果。由于Avira具有无限的连接,因此我们假定服务器速度不是很好。然而,对于 Perfect-Privacy(无限但速度最快),我们绝对是错了,所以了解速度的最好方法就是测试。

因此,我们发现Avira在我们的速度测试中排名第27位。在52个VPN中,Avira正好排在中间位置。

服务器 Ping 下载 上传
美国 663.64% -33.20% -6.18%
英国 350% -40.78% -18.15%
日本 1750% -21.09% -80.89%

只有27个目的地国

服务器分布越广,连接速度越快。这是由于离你地理位置较近的服务器在VPN上来回移动速度较快。

传播最广的服务器园区是由HideMyAss维护的,它在超过196个国家都有服务器园区,远高于市场平均水平。但遗憾的是,Avira甚至没有跟上平均水平。 它只在27个国家拥有80多台服务器

速度也会因为其他的原因受到影响。我们认为Avira正在使许多用户超载服务器。这是因为Avira的每个帐户具有无限的同时连接,因此一些用户可能会滥用系统。

从好的方面来说,你可以在家人和朋友间共享一个账号。

在中国无法使用

说到目的地,如果你的下一个旅行目的地是中国呢?Avira会帮你与西方网站连接吗?

中国是一个互联网规则非常严格的国家。由于政府的制度,你不能使用谷歌学术、YouTube、维基百科和许多其他平台。比如在2018年,连一些VPN服务都被禁止了,比如Private Internet Access 和ProtonVPN,剩下一些可能还是无法使用的网关。

Affected providers are unknown. The Chinese government hasn’t released any official list of available services. For this reason, we had to do our own research and the results were stunning.

  • 51个服务网站中只有12个可以访问
  • 51项服务中只有7项不受影响

开始似乎很有希望,进入avira.com是成功的,这意味着你可以轻松地浏览和下载你需要的产品。但是,如果你住在中国或者准备去访问,这不是一个好选择。

Avira Phantom在中国无法使用

设置和使用性

每隔一段时间,我们就会碰上一些让人痛苦的服务,主要原因是复杂的注册和糟糕的支持。

试想一下,当你已经决定购买一个工具,但你不会收到确认邮件来完成注册。或者更糟糕的是,你发了一封邮件请求帮助,但一周后才收到回复,这真是太让人沮丧了。

所以我们和所有新客户一样,经历了同样的过程。

  • 支持的主要平台

它适合2种类型的设备--电脑和移动设备。支持的操作系统有iMac、Windows、Android和iOS。想要轻量级的东西?Avira甚至提供了一个谷歌浏览器扩展。

  • 缺乏定价动力

You can choose between the free version or the paid ones. The only difference is the paid version is equipped with tech support and “fail-safe” aka kill switch.

付费服务的费用是4.74美元/月。然而这仅仅是在有年度订阅的情况下,如果你选择每月的选项,你将支付7美元/月。如果你考虑到像NordVPN这样的优质提供商有1-3年的订阅计划,价格只需2.99美元/月,这就不值得投资了。

试试吧,但你可能需要使用他们的30天退款保证... ...

  • 缺乏付款方式

另一个遗憾的是缺乏付款方式。通常,如果VPN不提供加密付款,那么你就不会是匿名的。唯一的选择是PayPal或旧信用卡。

  • 病毒扫描结果为阳性

最后,如果你已经下载了安装文件(至少它很小!只有5.2 MB),那么你将面临困境。Antiy-AVL扫描仪发现了Trojan.Win32.SGeneric引擎,是假阳性还是真的,我们不得而知。

  • 缓慢的客户支持

让我们回到2018年,当时我们对所有51个VPN进行了初步测试。当时我们惊呆了,这些服务的客服响应很糟糕。他们中的一些人在几分钟内就做出了回应,然而有些人根本就不回复!

有两种方法可以联系Avira。要么给他们发电子邮件,要么自己从他们的常见问题页面查找答案。

我们试了一下邮件。

3个简单的问题等待43个小时,让人又想起了蜗牛邮件。类似的情况也发生在Norton身上,这也是大企业VPN不在我们的榜首的原因之一。

无DNS泄露

缩写DNS代表域名服务。它的作用是主机和用户之间的域名转换机器。举个例子,Google.com实际上是一个IP地址,如192.168.1.1。在你从浏览器连接到Google网站的过程中,某些DNS提供商正在进行转换。

In case of a bad VPN. Your real IP is being exposed and that is what is considered in the VPN leak test tool.

测试这种故障是测评的一部分......我们有一个好消息要告诉你!

Avira Phantom VPN DNS不会泄露

可用Netflix和torrenting

经过5天的可用性测试,我们对流媒体的可用性持怀疑态度。Netflix是电影流媒体和在线娱乐的首选之地。你知道它目前是按收入计算的第七大互联网公司吗?

一个VPN与Netflix结合起来是很强大的。只需单击几下,您就可以看到世界各地的电影。

然而有些VPN的IP地址却被屏蔽了。

我们对3台随机服务器进行了快速测试,看看Avira是否是其中之一。以下是测试结果:

3个中有2个不成功:"糟糕,出了点问题..."表示你必须更换服务器或VPN提供商。

如果你准备自己做试错测试,则可能会发现一些可行的方法。

好消息是,Avira声称可以使用torrenting。在我们的案例中,我们想欣赏“ Metropolis”,这是一部过去的公共领域电影。我们可以确认:torrenting 是可用的。

Avira Phantom VPN评测结论--我们是否推荐它?

Avira是一个知名品牌,这无疑使他们在资金支持和技术诀窍方面具有竞争优势。而这也正是你第一次使用他们的智囊团Phantom和Premium时看到的。

两者都是以精美的设计,强大的加密和协议的形式出现。似乎他们已经搞定了......但他们没有......正好相反。

这产品太可怕了!

缺少双跳和反应灵敏的支持团队是首先引起我们注意的地方。但作为5眼辖区的一部分,速度一般,缺乏路由器支持,病毒检测结果为阳性是不可原谅的。

不过它可能很适合商业用户。

Test VPN and share your thoughts on Avira Phantom VPN.

请在下面写出您的Avira Phantom VPN评论

这一页有帮助吗?
没有
100% would recommend this VPN to a friend 0% would not

留下评论

Subscribe to our alerts

Join the Privacy Club and receive alerts about VPN deals.

You can unsubscribe at any time

Subscribe to VPN alerts

Avira Phantom VPN: German Build Quality – Myth?

This is why corporations will never make great VPNs

I remember once downloading the Avira antivirus software. It was back in 2018 when they released their new version. I was just finishing formatting my laptop and wanted to try something new instead of Avast, Kaspersky or FireEye.

Yet the next thing I remember was uninstalling it as quickly as I got it.

Why?

Avira Antivirus had “free” extra features that were actually trialware. In addition, the protection was quite mediocre and it has a heavy impact on the system performance.

But this time, we will have a look at Avira Phantom VPN and write you a full review.

Let’s begin.

Founded By a “Benevolent Dictator”

Avira Operations GmbH & Co. KG was founded in 2006, and it’s predecessor H+BEDV Datentechnik GmbH in 1986. As a result, they have been on the cybersecurity market for over 33 years.

The founder is Tjark Auerbach, the “Benevolent Dictator” as he calls himself on his LinkedIn profile. After 27 years of running the company, he retired early in 2013, leaving behind a company estimated 9.6% of global market share (according to OPSWAT), and over 100+ million customers.

Avira was considered the sixth largest antivirus vendor in 2012.

No Browsing Logging

Out of 51 VPNs, 20 log your personal data. Personal data could be either connection timestamps, your IP address or the websites you visit. There are 3 reasons why your data might be at risk in case of data logging:

  1. Data breaches – In the year 2018 alone, over 5+ billion personal data records were leaked from well-known brands like Facebook, Marriott Hotels, etc
  2. Government information requests – In case the company is based in 14 eyes jurisdiction, your data might be leaked
  3. Vendor honesty – Some VPN services have sold users data to a 3rd party advertisers.

Here’s Avira Phantom VPN logging policy by date 18th May 2019:

Avira Phantom VPN claims no logging. And it seems they have acted according to the policy because we are not aware of any public court cases that prove the opposite.

Secure Encryption and Features

The essence of a great VPN is security. It comes in many forms like the type of encryption, additional features, and reliability. And like most of the services out there, Avira is packed with some really good stuff.

  • AES 256-bit encryption method. Advanced encryption standard is a subset of ciphers, an algorithms that define the process of the data encryption. Governments, NASA and cybersecurity firms all use it, so it’s wildly secure. We won’t say it’s unhackable, but it would be an incredibly complicated task
  • Encryption Protocols OpenVPN, IPSec, and ikev2. If you want the highest level of safety and speed, OpenVPN is what you should use. However, yu cannot change between ports and UDP/TCP
  • Kill switch is an automatic connection cutter in case of system failure. It lets you sleep peacefully at night, even if the PC is switched on.

Yet not everything is for free. As every feature requires development hours and maintenance, it’s intelligible that some features have to serve only the paying customers. For example, Kill Switch doesn’t come along with the free plan.

Unfortunately, hopping between servers is not available. Multi-hop (Double hop) routes your traffic through two to three countries before it reaches the destination server, just to increase the level of security.

Average Server Speeds

Speed is the result of server management. As Avira has unlimited connections, we assumed that the server speed is not that great. However, in the case of Perfect-Privacy (unlimited yet the fastest speeds), we were absolutely wrong so the best way to learn about the speeds is to test them.

In the result, we found that speed Avira ranks 26th on our speed tests. Out of 51 VPNs, Avira was placed exactly in the middle.

ServerPingDownloadUpload
US663.64%-33.20%-6.18%
UK350%-40.78%-18.15%
Japan1750%-21.09%-80.89%

Only 27 Destination Countries

The more widely spread servers, the faster the connection speed. This is due to the fact that closer servers to your geographical location travel faster back and forth over the VPN.

The most widely spread server parks are maintained by HideMyAss, which has them in over 196+ countries, way above the market average. But unfortunately, Avira is not keeping up even with the average. It only has 80+ servers in 27 countries.

The speed is affected due to other things as well. Overloading servers with many users is something we consider Avira is doing. This is because Avira has unlimited simultaneous connections per account, and therefore, some users may simply abuse the system.

On the bright side, you can spread one account between your family and friends.

☒ Doesn’t Work in China

Speaking of destinations, what if your next travel destination is China? Would Avira help you connect with Western websites?

China is one of those countries which has incredibly strict Internet rules. You cannot use Google Scholar, YouTube, Wikipedia, and many other platforms due to government regime. For example in 2018, even some VPN services like Private Internet Access and ProtonVPN were banned, left alone a few that could still be your gateway back home.

Affected providers are unknown. The Chinese government hasn’t released any official list of available services. For this reason, we had to do our own research and the results were stunning.

  • Only 12 out of 51 service websites are accessible
  • Only 7 out of 51 services are not affected

The start seemed to be promising. Accessing avira.com was successful, meaning that you can easily navigate and download the products you need. However, if you live in China or plan to have a visit, it’s not a good choice:

Avira Phantom doesn’t work in China

Setup and Usability

Every once in a while, we stumble on services that are painful to set up. The main reason for this is complex registration and bad support.

Just imagine the moment, when you have made a decision to buy a tool and you won’t get a confirmation e-mail to finish the registration. Or worse, you send an e-mail asking for help but the response arrives a week later. It’s such a downer.

So we went through the same process as all new customers do.

  • Main platforms supported

It fits with 2 types of devices – Desktop and mobile. The operating systems supported are iMac, Windows, Android, and iOS. Want something lightweight? Avira offers even a Google Chrome extension.

  • Lack of pricing dynamics

You can choose between the free version or the paid one. The only difference is the paid version is equipped with tech support and “fail-safe” aka kill switch.

The cost of the paid service is $10 per month. Yet monthly subscription is the only option, and we are don’t support this type of approach at all. It’s not a good investment if you consider premium providers like NordVPN have 1-3 year subscriptions plans for as cheap as $2.99 / mo.

Try it, but you probably need to use their 30-days money back guarantee…

  • Lack of payment methods

Another bummer is the lack of payment methods. Usually, if a VPN doesn’t offer crypto payments, you can be sure that you are not anonymous. The only options are PayPal or good old credit card.

  • Positive virus scan results

And finally, if you have downloaded the setup file (At least it’s small! Only 5.2 MB), you face an elephant. Antiy-AVL scanner found Trojan.Win32.SGeneric engine. If it’s false-positive or a real one, we don’t know.

  • Slow customer support

Let’s go back to 2018 when we did initial tests with all 51 VPNs. At that time we were stunned how bad was the customer support response for those services. Some of them responded within minutes, yet some didn’t answer at all!

There are two ways to contact Avira. Either e-mail them or look up the answer yourself from their FAQ page.

We tried the e-mail.

Waiting 43 hours for 3 simple questions reminds of using snail mail again. A similar situation occurred with Norton, and that’s one of the reasons why large corporations VPNs are not in the top of our list.

☑ NO DNS Leaks

Acronym DNS stands for Domain Name Service. It works as a domain translation machine between the host and the user. As an example, Google.com is actually an IP address such as 192.168.1.1. During your connection from a browser to Google website, a conversion is being done by certain DNS providers.

In case of a bad VPN. Your real IP is being exposed and that is what is considered as a leak.

Testing this sort of failure is part of the review… and we have good news for you!

Avira Phantom VPN DNS does NOT leak.

 Netflix and Torrenting Available

After 5 days of usability testing, we were skeptic about the streaming availability. Netflix is the go-to place for movie streaming and online entertainment. Did you know that it’s currently the seventh largest Internet company by revenue?

A VPN combined with Netflix is powerful. You could see movies from all around the globe within a few clicks.

Yet some of the VPN IP addresses are blocked.

We conducted a quick test with 3 random servers to find out if Avira is one of them. Here’s the result.

Two out of 3 were unsuccessful. “Whoops, something went wrong…” indicates that you have to either change the server or your VPN provider.

If you are ready to do your own trial and error tests, you might find a few that work.

Good news is that Avira claims to work with torrenting. In our case, we wanted to enjoy the “Metropolis”, a public domain movie from the past. And we can confirm: torrenting is available:

Final Verdict – Do We Recommend It?

Avira is a well-known brand. This definitely gives them a competitive advantage in terms of financial backing and know-how. And this is exactly what you see when first using their brainchildren Phantom and Premium.

Both arrive in the beautiful form of design, strong encryption, and protocols. It seems they have nailed it… But they haven’t… exactly the opposite.

The product is hideous.

Lacking double-hop and responsive support team are what first caught our attention. But being part of 5 eyes jurisdiction, average speeds, lack of router support and positive virus test results are unforgivable.

It would be a good fit for business users though.

Leave a Comment